DAVID BOWIE announces new LP ‘The Next Day’; releases single/video ‘Where Are We Now?’


On the day of his 66th birthday, David Bowie suddenly came out of semi-retirement with the surprising announcement that he will release a new album — The Next Day, his first in a decade and 30th overall — in March. The LP was recorded in New York with producer Tony Visconti, who worked on Bowie’s legendary Berlin trilogy (Low“Heroes”Lodger) as well as his last two records (2002’s Heathen and 2003’s Reality). This news is certainly cause to celebrate, although it’s tempered by the fact that Bowie unfortunately has no plans to tour at this stage. He also unveiled a new single titled ‘Where Are We Now?’ on his newly revamped website, with an accompanying video directed by Tony Oursler, and the ballad is somewhat of a throwback to his Berlin years with several references to the city. While I’m excited about the new album, I must admit I found the track to be a little underwhelming and the video is just plain weird.

The Next Day is due March 11. Check out the tracklist and the video for ‘Where Are We Now?’ below.

The Next Day:

1. The Next Day
2. Dirty Boys
3. The Stars (Are Out Tonight)
4. Love is Lost
5. Where Are We Now?
6. Valentine’s Day
7. If You Can See Me
8. I’d Rather Be High
9. Boss of Me
10. Dancing Out in Space
11. How Does the Grass Grow?
12. (You Will) Set the World on Fire
13. You Feel So Lonely You Could Die
14. Heat

Bonus tracks:

15. So She
16. I’ll Take You There
17. Plan

1 ping

  1. [WATCH] DAVID BOWIE: ‘The Stars (Are Out Tonight)’ starring Tilda Swinton » A FISTFUL OF CULTURE

    […] (Are Out Tonight)’. After the uncharacteristically murky and disappointing clip for ’Where Are We Now?‘, Bowie is back in fine form here, teaming up with legendary director Floria Sigismondi and […]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>